The Commonwealth of Australia is set as a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy. Under this form of government, the Head of State is Queen Elizabeth II of England, while the national affairs of the world's largest island are conducted by the Prime Minister, elected by the coalition with the largest number of seats in Parliament.

This country has an elaborate ministerial system, among which the following should be considered when doing business:

Attorney’s General Department

This is the office responsible for the administration and enforcement of justice in Australia, at the local, regional and national levels. Since 2019, this organism has also ruled industrial relations.

Department of Education, Skills, and Employment

This department was born in 2020, following the merger of the Department of Education and the Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business. It is dedicated to “ensuring Australians can experience the wellbeing and economic benefits that quality education, skills, and employment provide.

In our article "About Australia" we talked about the visas you can access as an investor. The importance of this department lies in the fact that it is in charge of training and providing the qualified personnel you will need in your new business in Australia.

Department of Finance

This department assists the government across a wide range of policy areas to ensure its outcomes are met. Its assistance covers the public resources management, governance, and accountability frameworks. It has 4 areas of focus: Budget and Financial Reporting; Business Enabling Services; Commercial and Government Services; Governance and Resource Management.

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

In addition to ensuring the security of the country, and looking after each of its interests, it is also responsible for the generation of ties and links with international organizations, seeking to increase investment opportunities and the welfare of Australians abroad.

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

This department is responsible for driving economic growth and job creation in Australia. It superseded the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science on February 1st, 2020. Within its responsibilities, the department is in charge of energy and science policy, construction industry, innovation, policy and technologies.

Department of the Treasury

This department is responsible for the economic and fiscal policy, as well as market regulation and the Australian Budget. According to Australian law, this department is divided in four groups: Fiscal, Macroeconomic, Revenue and Markets. 

The Treasury also works with state and territory governments on key policy areas, as well as managing federal financial relations.

Country experts
View All

Financial boutique Corporate, Financial Licenses, Investments, Residency

Years of practice in his field: 25